About effingham

   Effingham County was created in 1777 with portions of St. Matthew parish and St. Philip parish by the Georgia Legislature. It was one of the eight original counties that made up Georgia. The county was named after Lord Effingham who served as a colonel in the British Army prior to the Revolutionary War, when he was ordered to take up arms against the colonists. He felt that this was unjust and refused to fight against the revolutionists. Due to the fact that it was so large when new counties were created in the area, pieces or parts of Effingham County were used to build the new counties, including Bulloch, Screven, Candler, Emanuel, Bryan and Evans Counties. Effingham County is also one of the oldest settlements in America. It was the second settlement in Georgia and was established as a Lutheran Salzburg community in 1734 at Ebenezer. The county seat of Effingham County is Springfield. The county is divided into three municipalities of Springfield, Rincon and Guyton. Effingham County is nestled between the Ogeechee and Savannah Rivers just north of Georgia’s first City, Savannah.  Effingham is steeped in tradition and heritage as one of Georgia’s original counties, yet we are keeping pace with the most modern amenities, solid planning and an eye on our bright future.  Effingham County boasts one of the fastest growth rates in the State of Georgia

Effingham Family Connection Collaborative meeting

Please join us on July 10, 2014 for our collaborative meeting.  The meeting will be held at the Effingham Administrative Complex, 601 North Laurel Street, Springfield, GA.  Start time is 9:30am and ending at 11:00am.  Meeting are open to the public.  Great information shared and networking with old friends and new friends.